CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: New constructor's question  (Read 5543 times)

Toast

New constructor's question
« on: January 03, 2018, 04:46:03 PM »
Hi, all. I'm just getting into puzzle constructing and I'm working through my first 15x15 grid, using Crossfire. My experience so far has been similar to what is described in the "Sage Advice" articles: I put in what I think are interesting answers and then get stumped putting in respectable fill around them. After flailing around a bit, I rip out some of the answers I wanted to keep and start fresh, with interesting words and phrases I've encountered along the way.

What I have a question about is a point that Nancy Salomon made in "Some thoughts on word lists" -- she wrote:

"Coming up with a good fill [...] involves identifying the most constrained sector(s) of the fill and starting there to make sure one has acceptable alternatives."

This is surely sound advice, but I'm having a difficult time picturing what this means in a practical sense. How do I identify constrained sectors in order to start there? Are there clues that you look for in the grid design or is it letter combinations that might originate from some of the longer or themed entries?

mmcbs

Re: New constructor's question
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2018, 09:02:39 PM »