CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: Help With the Fill  (Read 7099 times)

irvson

Help With the Fill
« on: September 20, 2011, 10:09:32 AM »
As this set of queries re: Fill will show, I am new to creating crosswords. The responses I've gotten here so far have been helpful, so I'm hoping that will happen again.

The attached GIFs show the NE corner of my grid. My question concerns the best way to proceded with the fill.

Step #1 shows what I started with. Using the cruciverb database, any of these searches produces more than 500 possibilities -- way too many to start with: (i??????) (n??????) (t??????). The tutorials I have read suggest filling the longest blanks first, but -- given this stack -- that will require an unreasonable amount of time. To (hopefully) speed things up a bit, I went to
Step #2.

Step #2 shows one of several possibilities, given the letters showing in Step #1. So now I have to choose where to procede: "ib," "no" or "tr." Experience might dictate which of these three rows would be the best choice, but I don't much of that -- experience, that is.

Step #3 shows the choice I made. (Actually I tried "ia?????" first, but that didn't work.) From this point, I think it's mostly trial and error. I open a few browser windows and, using the cruciverb database, list searches like (no?????) (e??) (r??) (i???a) etc. Then I look at the possibilities.

This is very time consuming. I know that creating crosswords can take time, and I'm OK with that. But if there are steps that I'm missing that might speed up the process a bit, I'm hoping someone here can point out these steps.

Thanks.

XMAAS

Re: Help With the Fill
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 06:06:22 PM »
How about:

IGUANAS
NOTNICE
TRAINER
HE##JIB