CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: Theme database  (Read 8040 times)

zinaphile

Theme database
« on: December 15, 2019, 09:49:43 PM »
Total newbie here. After much huffing and puffing I managed to complete the fill for my first crossword.  Sat down to do an NYT crossword from a month ago that I hadn't gotten around to and lo and behold it was the same theme as mine. Well, not exactly the same, the rules it followed were different than mine. But both were based on words containing POP, as a result of which our theme words were virtually identical.  Ouch.

So my question is this - is there a database or list anywhere that tracks themes so you can see if your idea has already been done?

mmcbs

Re: Theme database
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2019, 06:59:00 AM »
There are several sites that offer this information. My favorite is crosswordgiant.com - when you enter an answer it displays all the occurrences of its being used, sorted by the clue. You can then click through to see all the answers and clues from that particular puzzle, which makes it fairly easier to see the theme and determine if its the same or similar to yours. This site covers a wide range of publishers.

This site cruciverb.com has a similar feature (Puzzle Database). Here you can actually see the grids (not just a list of answers/clues). I believe you have to have a paid membership to use this, and it only covers a limited number of publishers and isn't always up to date.

xwordinfo.com has an excellent database, but it only covers NYT.