CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: Why Do Crosswords?  (Read 9251 times)

magus

Why Do Crosswords?
« on: September 21, 2010, 11:30:04 AM »
   I do a crossword puzzle every morning with a cup of coffee --- really two cups.  I have been doing so for about fifteen years, and when a friend asked me a few days ago why, I was hard pressed to answer.  “Habit, I guess” I said with a shrug, but it was an answer only because I didn’t have a ready one.  After thinking about it, though, I believe I know why.
   First, I like words.  I was almost ten-years-old before the family got a TV set, and stories came only from books.  I liked stories and majored in English in college and graduate school.  So the word was and is paramount in much of my life (I still write fiction [www.lulu.com  then Anthony Gael Moral]).
   But the word in crosswords is different from the word in stories.  In stories words are tools, in crosswords they are the end in themselves.  One has to appreciate the word in its connotative as well as denotative form and see its relationship to other words.  How, for example, does the word man mean more than what one first might think it does?
   So the second reason I like doing crosswords is that they lead me to look at what I like to begin with, the word, in a different and often more interesting way.  And how precisely does the crossword do this?  By using a word or two.