CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: opportunities  (Read 5197 times)

jrob

opportunities
« on: January 16, 2012, 10:50:51 PM »
An admittedly stupid question. I am a beginner, crossword and computer. I have been accepted by NYT for one of my puzzles but rejected for ten. I would like to send some to some more reachable targets. What do you suggest?
Along the same lines I use Crossfire. I print it out scan it, print it, and send it in by snail mail to the NYT.
Using Crossfire what do you suggest I do to get to other publishers. I read the LAT that I should use Across Lite but frankly, I don't know how to do that.
So here I am. The puzzles have some potential, but I really don't want to do 100 puzzles and get one or two published by the NYT.
Ideas?

VB

Re: opportunities
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2012, 08:02:28 AM »
jrob -

I have done much better with the LAT than with the NYT. They also have electronic submission and quicker response and often give a more useful set of feedback (of course, I just got a rejection that was "nice idea, but we recently accepted someone else's version of the same theme" - so it goes).  I don't use Crossfire, but it should be able to save into a format the Rich Norris can read - e-mail him about it, and my guess is you'll get a response pretty quickly.