CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: What are chances of being published?  (Read 8100 times)

ksalat09

What are chances of being published?
« on: February 21, 2011, 06:32:19 PM »
Hi, I'm Kevin and I'm new at making crosswords. I've made a several for my school newspaper and have gotten very positive reviews of them from my peers and now I'd like to start making some extra money by publishing them in the LA Times.

I've been doing the LA Times Crosswords for about a year now and I feel that the one's that I've made are just as up to snuff.

But how many people, roughly, send in crosswords to the LA Times?

What percent chance do I have for my crosswords that I send routinely to be published? (I just sent two crosswords today through CCW)

Are my chances of being paid/published for my 15x15 crosswords, like 1% or 50% or 90%?

SJS

Re: What are chances of being published?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 03:16:13 PM »
The editor of the LA puzzle is Rich Norris, and about 2 years ago (maybe less) he reported that he receives about 60 puzzles per week.  Obviously he can publish only 7.  So considering no other factors, your odds would be about 12%.

Of course, there are other factors!  I'm sure some are rejected immediately for one reason or another.  Some are maybe amateurish, some are maybe duplications of themes seen before, etc.  If your puzzles are excellent and inventive, then your odds would be higher than the straight numbers.

ksalat09

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 09:06:27 PM »