CRUCIVERB.COM

User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Navigate

Resources

Donations

You can help support this site by making a small donation using either a PayPal account:

or with a major credit card such as:

Click here for details.

Author Topic: Submissions  (Read 5021 times)

atco418

Submissions
« on: December 03, 2016, 08:16:32 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to puzzle construction, and to this site, and I'm hoping someone might have answers to a few of my questions.  I've been a solver for years, and a few months ago I began attempts at writing a few.  At this point, I have a pair of grids that I plan to send to Mr. Shortz -one is a daily, one is a Sunday - and after printing the completed manuscripts I learned from the resources section of this site that Sundays may require multiple stages of approval.  It is finished, and I guess I could just send it, but I'd rather not breach protocol.  It's still a bit fuzzy for me just how casual or coordinated I need to be with my submissions.
Suggestions?

RichP

Re: Submissions
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2016, 11:09:53 PM »
Some editors will request (and review) just the seeds for a certain puzzles, like a 21 x 21, but Will does not do this. He only reviews completed puzzles. What each editor requests is in the publisher chart. (Although I recently followed the seed-review protocol for Chronicle of Higher Ed. and, even after following up after a few weeks, I never heard back. So maybe I know less than I think I do!)

atco418

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 03:57:04 PM »
Thanks for the info.  I submitted a couple at the end of the year.  No success yet, but I'm hopeful.  I do have a new submission question about theme queries.  When you send one to an editor, and he/she gives the thumbs up, are you then obliged to follow through and produce the puzzle?  Not that I wouldn't - I'm just curious.

mmcbs

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2017, 09:26:46 PM »